2019 Sigma Xi Research Award Winners Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter

FACULTY AWARDS

Sustained Research Award: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$6,000)

• Professor Younan Xia, Professor (Biomedical Engineering)

Committee: Jeffrey Skolnick, Chair (BioSci), Srinivas Aluru (CSE), Jean Luc Bredas (CHEM), Hang Lu (ChBE), Mark Prausnitz (ChBE)

Best Faculty Paper: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$3,000 each)

- Peter Yunker (Phys) & William Ratcliff (BioSci) (split award)
- Wilbur A. Lam (Biomedical Engineering)

Committee: Gleb Yushin, Chair (MSE), Alexander Alexeev (ME), Steven W. Usselman (HSOC)

Young Faculty Award: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$3,000 each)

- Seung Woo Lee, Assistant Professor (Mechanical Engineering)
- Martin P. Mourigal, Assistant Professor (Physics)

Committee: Satish Kumar, Chair (ME), Pamela T. Bhatti (ECE), Meilin Liu (MSE), Francesca Storici (BioSci)

STUDENT AWARDS

<u>Best Ph.D. Thesis:</u> (with a plaque, certificate, and \$1,000 each)

| Award Recipient | School | Advisor |
|--------------------|--------|---------------------------------|
| Razi Dehghannasiri | ECE | Ali Adibi |
| Perry Ellis | PHYS | Alberto Fernandez-Nieves |
| Xiaolei Fang | ISYE | Nagi Gebraeel & Kamran Paynabar |
| Eric Johnston | CEE | Kostas Konstantinidis |
| Akanksha Menon | ME | Shannon Yee |
| Sean Rodrigue | ECE | Wenshen Cai |
| Haopeng Xiao | CHEM | Ronghu Wu |
| Patricia Yang | ME | David L. Hu |
| X. Shelly Zhang | CEE | Glaucio H. Paulino |

Committee: Kostas Konstantinidis, Chair (CEE), John D. Cressler (ECE), Santanu S. Dey (ISyE), Daniel I. Goldman (Phys), Kyriaki Kalaitzidou (ME), Olivier N. Pierron (ME), Panagiotis Tsiotras (AE)

Best Undergraduate Research: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$250 each)

Award Recipient School Advisor

Jonathan E. Mitchel BioSci John McDonald & Jeffrey Skolnick

Committee: Raquel L. Lieberman, Chair (CHEM), Zhuomin Zhang (ME)