2020 Sigma Xi Research Award Winners Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter

FACULTY AWARDS

Sustained Research Award: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$6,000)

• Professor Vladimir V. Tsukruk, Regents' Professor (MSE)

Committee: David McDowell, Chair (ME), Mark Borodovsky (Comp), William Koros (ChBE), Jianjun Shi (ISYE), Jeffrey Skolnick (Bio).

Best Faculty Paper: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$3,000 each)

- Gabe Kwong, Associate Professor (BME)
- Konstantinos (Kostas) Konstantinidis, Professor (CEE)

Committee: Nga Lee (Sally) Ng, Chair (ChBE/EAS), James J. Wray (EAS), Gleb Yushin (MSE).

Young Faculty Award: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$3,000 each)

- Matthew McDowell, Assistant Professor (ME)
- Chris Reinhard, Assistant Professor (EAS)

Committee: Younan Xia, Chair (BME), Daniel Goldman (Phys), Patrick McGrath (Bio), Devesh Ranjan (ME).

STUDENT AWARDS

Best Ph.D. Thesis: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$1,000 each)

Award Recipient	School	Advisor
Mingu Kim	ECE	Oliver Brand
Ming Zhao	Chem	Younan Xia
Aishwarya Agrawal	Inter-Comp	Dhruv Batra
Caitlyn Seim	Inter-Comp	Thad Starner
Andres Caballero	BME	Wei Sun
Ke (Chris) Liu	CEE	Glaucio H. Paulino
Monica McNerney	ChBE	Mark P. Styczynski
Chris Sugino	ME	Alper Erturk
Hamid Reza Seyf	ME	Asegun Henry
Eric Tervo	ME	Baratunde Cola and Zhuomin Zhang

Committee: Alexander Alexeev, Chair (ME), Ellen Mazumdar (ME), David Myers (BME), Fatih Sarioglu (ECE), Peter Yunker (Phys), Gleb Yushin (MSE).

Best M.S. Thesis: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$500 each)

Award Recipient	School	Advisor
Hua Huang	CSE	Edmond Chow
Adam C. Yonge	ChBE	Andrew J. Medford

Committee: Antonia Antoniou, Chair (ME), Marta Hatzell (ME), Koki Ho (Aeros), B. Aditya Prakash (CSE), Shuman Xia (ME).

Best Undergraduate Research: (with a plaque, certificate, and \$250 each)

Award Recipient	School	Advisor
Mary Kho	Bio	Shuyi Nie
Samuel Delmerico	Chem	Jesse McDaniel

Committee: Wenshan Cai, Chair (ECE), David L. Hu (ME), Shreyes N. Melkote (ME), Ronghu Wu (Chem).