FACULTY AWARDS

BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING (BME)

Emily Day was named a CMBE Young Innovator. Dr. Day also received the 2018 Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award (BMES) and the NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award.

Sarah Rooney received a National Biomedical Engineering Teaching Award from the American Society for Engineering Education Biomedical Engineering Division to recognize contributions in the field of biomedical engineering education.

Jeannie Stephens was awarded the University of Delaware Excellence in Advising Award.

Dawn Elliott began a two-year term as the President of the Biomedical Engineering Society.

CHEMICAL AND BIOMOLECULAR ENGINEERING (CBE)

April Kloxin was the ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry Researcher of the Month for May 2018. Dr. Kloxin also received the 2018 ACS PMSE Arthur K. Doolittle Award.

COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCES (CIS)

Cathy Wu, the Unidel Edward G. Jefferson Chair in Engineering and Computer Science and an expert in bioinformatics, was appointed as founding director of the University of Delaware Data Science Institute and named a distinguished Member of the Association for Computing Machinery.

Professor Emeritus, M. Sandra Carberry, receives the first Bobby F. Caviness Alumni Impact Award.

Lori Pollock received the Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award from the NCWIT on May 16, 2018.

MATERIALS **SCIENCE ENGINEERING** (MSE)

Xingiao Jia received an American Chemical Society Delaware Section Award.

YOUNG INNOVATOR AWARD



Department of Biomedical

Engineering

EMILY

DAY

Dr. Day received the Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE) Young Innovator Award for her research on nanoshell layerby-layer assembly for therapeutic delivery of miRNA for gene regulation. For the fifth year CMBE recognized assistant professors internationally for outstanding research and typically award only ten to twelve researchers internationally.

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (ME)

Jenni Buckley was named in the American Society for Engineering Education's "20 Under 40," and received a COE Dean's Award for Excellence in Service & Community in recognition of outstanding efforts in engineering education and community engagement.

New WIE REPRESENTATIVE



HAORAN

WEI

Haoran is a 5th-year Ph.D. student in Computer Science. She works

in Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning with Dr. Keith Decker. As a new WIE rep, she wishes to encourage more women to be involved in engineering and science and to use their diverse talents to facilitate innovation.

WIE GRADUATE STEERING COMMITTEE





Danielle Valcourt Catherine Millar-(Chair)





Haskell

Privanka Ketkar





Azadeh Gharibreza Yazdi







Haoran Wei

Olga Mironenko

ECE

Π Σ

MSEG





Fatemeh Hosseini

Elahe Ganji (Co-Chair)



Olivia George

Kelsey Neal

Iflah Laraib

AND



WIE Newsletter — Fall 2018

The mission of WIE is to promote, mentor, and enable participation of women students and faculty in engineering studies and in the workplace at the University of Delaware.

RECENT WIE EVENTS

Welcome Pizza Lunch

The annual WIE Welcome Pizza Lunch was held at Trabant Student Center to introduce WIE and WIE steering committee to new female graduate students and promote a strong female community among COE graduate students, post-docs, and faculty.

Organized by Danielle Valcourt and Elahe Ganji (14 Sept)



Halloween Coffee Break

Graduate students and faculty gathered to enjoy coffee, cocoa, desserts, and Halloween-themed activities.

Organized by Natalia Rodriguez And Olivia George (25 Oct)



WIE FACULTY ADVISORS



Heather Doty Mechanical Engineering (hdoty@udel.edu)

Pam Cook Mathematical Sciences & Chemical Engineering (cook@math.udel.edu)

Movie Night (Wonder)

WIE sponsored a screening of Wonder in a family-friendly event open to all faculty, graduate students, and post-docs at the STAR this fall. This movie is based on a the popular award-winning and New York Times bestseller novel. Wonder tells a heartwarming story with great messages of kindness and acceptance.

Organized by Kelsey Neal and Iflah Laraib (4 Oct)



FRIEND OF WIE



MOUMITA BHATTACHARYA

Department of Computer and Information Sciences

Moumita Bhattacharya, doctoral student in computer science and former WIE representative, has been selected by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) to be one of only 200 young computer scientists worldwide and 15 selected students nationwide to participate in the sixth Heidelberg Laureate Forum this Fall.

COE GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS

COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCES (CIS)

Moumita Bhattacharya was selected to attend the Heidelberg Laureate Forum on September 23 in Heidelberg, Germany.

BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING (BME)

Margot Farnham was awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. In addition, she received a BMES Travel Award, an IBBM Summer Fellowship and was inducted into the Sigma Xi Research Honors Society.

Andria Farrens received the BME Rising Star Award.

Rachel Gilbert received an NIH F31 predoctoral fellowship and the BME Best Seminar Series Presentation Award.

Rachel Gilbert and Jasmine Shirazi received ASCB travel awards.

Keely Keller received a Biomedical Engineering Society Career Development Award.

Andrea Lee received the BME Best Paper Award.

Danielle Valcourt received the BMES Influential Graduate Student Award and the BME Outstanding Outreach Award.

MATERIAL SCIENCE & ENGINEERING (MSE)

Tess Ginley received the 2018-2019 NASA DE Space Grant Graduate Fellowship.

Anitha Ravikrishnan received a UD Doctoral Fellowship Award.

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (ME)

Kayla Pariser received NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.

Follow us: http://sites.udel.edu/wie/

