WIE GRADUATE STEERING COMMITTEE

FACULTY AWARDS **AND NEWS**

CHEMICAL AND BIOMOLECULAR ENGINEERING (CBE)

Arthi Jayarman was appointed as new associate editor at Macromolecules, a prominent polymer science and engineering journal.

Cathy Fromen and Emily Day have been selected to participate in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 25th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium.

CIVIL AND ENVIRONMENTAL **ENGINEERING**

Sue McNeil was awarded the 2019 Roy W. Crum award for outstanding leadership in research transport and research administration.

COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCES

will co-lead Hagit Shatkay interdisciplinary research team to identify and localize dark matter with a grant of \$1 million from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Sunita Chandrasekaran's team was selected by Oak Ridge National Laboratory to develop applications for it upcoming exascale era supercomputer 'Frontier'.

ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING (ECE)

Hui Fang was awarded the 2019 Early Career Academic Achievement Alumni Award from the University of Illinois Department of Computer Science engineers.

Swati Singh received a \$245,532 grant from NSF to identify and explore the use of stateof-the-art quantum devices to detect astrophysical phenomena.

Chengmo Yang is researching ways to support neural networks in low-power embedded systems with grant from NSF.

NEW COE FACULTY



JULIE KOHN Biomedical Engineering

ELISE CORBIN Biomedical Engineering





ROGHAYEH BARMAKI Computer and Information Sciences

SAMBEETA (SAM) DAS Mechanical Engineering





LAURE KAYSER Materials Science and Engineering

MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (MSEG)

LaShanda Korley built a network of materials that mimicks the mechanical gradient of a bristle worm's jaw, bringing a five year long NSF funded research to culmination.

April Kloxin received the Biosciences Lectureship Award and 2019 NIH Director's New Innovator award.

Stephanie Law won the prestigious Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor given by the US government in recognition of early career scientists and engineers.

BM



Jamie Benson



Meghan Kupratis

BE



Natalia Rodriguez



Priyanka Ketkar



Grace Ashley



Maryam Shaygan



Yidan Hu



Haoran Wei



Ishaani Privadarshini



Fateme Hosseini



Kelsey Neal



(Chair)



Nicole Halaszvnski



Iflah Laraib Co-Chair





WIE Newsletter - Spring 2019

The mission of WIE is to promote, mentor, and enable participation of women students and faculty in engineering studies and in the workplace at the University of Delaware.

NEW NAMED CBE CHAIR

MARIANTHI G. **IERAPETRITOU**

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering



Dr. Ierapetritou was appointed as the Bob and Jane Gore Centennial Chair of the department Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. She received her Doctorate from Imperial College, London in 1995 and now has more than 250 publications. Her research focuses on process operations, energy and sustainability process modelling operations, modeling biopharmaceutical production, and designing flexible production systems. She is the recipient of prestigious federal grants such as FDA, NIH, NSF, ONR, and NASA and several industrial grants.

WIE FACULTY ADVISORS



Heather Doty Mechanical Engineering (hdoty@udel.edu)



Pam Cook Mathematical Sciences & **Chemical Engineering** (cook@math.udel.edu)

NEW NAMED PROFESSORS

April Kloxin was named as the Centennial Development Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

Jennifer McConnell was named as the Bentley Systems Early Career professor Civil of and Environmental Engineering.

RECENT WIE **EVENTS**

Ice-cream Break

This summer, WIE got over 200 CoE graduate students and faculty together to kickback over ice-cream. UDairy icecream was served with some lawn games

Organized by Yidaan Hu and Ishaani Priyadarshini

on the side.



Welcome Pizza Lunch

One of our rare "women only" events, this year's welcome pizza lunch was attended by almost 100 women graduate students, post-docs, faculty across the CoE. Besides enjoying lunch and an ice breaking game of bingo attendees also won prizes in a trivia.

Organized by Elahe Iflah Laraib



Board Game Night

For the first time ever, WIE hosted a game night to help the CoE graduate students and post docs relax, mix and enjoy delicious pizza and snacks over

their favorite board games. Organized by Nicole Halaszynski and Kelsey Neal



STFM Presentation Masterclass

By popular demand, WiE brought back its communication workshop with Nancy Houfek, an award winning actor, stage director, and theater educator. The workshop was held in two sessions this time to meet its popular demand among CoE graduate students.

Organized by Priyanka Ketkar and Maryam Shaygan



COE GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS

BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING (BME)

Laurel Shappell was awarded the NSF-Graduate Research Fellowship (GRFP) Megan Dang received NSF-GRFP Honorable Mention

Meghan Kupratis received the Fred Rust Merit Scholarship

Jasmine Shirazi was awarded the University of Delaware Doctoral Fellowship

ELECTRICAL AND **COMPUTER ENGINEERING (ECE)**

Nicole Wells (BEE '13) received the 2019 ECE Young Alumni Award.



