

## Hardin County Extension News Release

For Further Information Contact: Mark Badertscher Agriculture and Natural Resources Extension Educator Phone – 419-674-2297 E-Mail – badertscher.4@osu.edu For Immediate Release – December 2, 2014

## **Agriculture Hall of Fame Inductees Honored at Banquet**

by Mark Badertscher, OSU Extension Educator

*Hardin County* – The Hardin County Agriculture Hall of Fame presented the 2014 inductees, who were honored at the twelfth annual Agriculture Hall of Fame recognition banquet held at St. John's United Church of Christ on December 2. The 2014 inductees were: Edward Althauser, Eugene Haudenschield, Bruce McCullough, and J. Ray Parrott.

The purpose of the county Agriculture Hall of Fame is to recognize outstanding agricultural contributions by Hardin County people and to honor those who have brought distinction to themselves and the agricultural industry. Gary Wilson presented the keynote address entitled 'Salute to Agriculture.' Members of the Agriculture Hall of Fame Committee are: Kerry Oberlitner (Farm Bureau) - chairman, Paul Ralston - vice chairman, Mark Badertscher (OSU Extension) – secretary, Robert McBride, Treasurer, Robert Wood (Grange), John Messmer, Andrew Flinn, Luke Underwood, and Don Spar.

Because these Hardin County Agriculture Hall of Fame inductees' service is vital to Ohio Agriculture and the citizens of our great state and nation, U.S. Representative, 5<sup>th</sup> District of Ohio, Robert E. Latta arranged for congressional proclamations for each inductee. The Hardin County Agriculture Hall of Fame would like to thank the sponsors who made this banquet possible. For further information, go to hardin.osu.edu.



Photo caption: 2014 inductees to the Hardin County Agriculture Hall of Fame include (front I to r) Marcy Shepherd and Sharon Heilman representing J. Ray Parrott family, (back I to r) Edward Althauser, Bruce McCullough, and Gene Haudenschield.